maths study via The Open University

MST209 TMA3 result in

My lecturer is awesomely quick – results arrived via the letterbox today.
Two small observations made.
Very high pass one score.
All good.

Having been locked out of the course forum for a few days (fixed yesterday) after the minor mishap of cancelling the wrong course by mistake, I’ve been approaching the course material from another direction – by watching a ridiculous amount of MIT lectures on Youtube.
This led me to going off at a tangent and examining Kepler’s Laws of Planetary Motion which, I’ve just been informed, are in MST209 later on.
They are quite fascinating, although exploring them on my own has raised more questions than it has provided answers.

Study of unit 13 starts tonight. I plan to tackle the first section between 6pm and 10pm tonight. At first glance, it looks tricky.

5 responses

  1. Hi
    Unrelated to this post, but me and the fiancée were interested in what you wrote a month or so ago about Omega3 etc., so a week or two back I bought Boots’ “Sharp Mind”, with Gingko Biloba, Omega3, Phosphatidyl Serine and Vitamin E (as well as their own brand of Berocca, since neither of us thinks we get enough vitamins in general).

    Anyway, you might be onto something… I can’t remember the last time I could do such long stretches of OU maths (though having some jobs cancelled last minute would have helped in that respect, though not in regard to my bank balance), and being so focused in the process.

    I was having some trouble with Mathematical Logic Unit 3 on Monday, so decided to blitz through the previous two units to try and get my head straight before proceeding. I spent almost all my spare time on it for the next few days, only actually skipping the exercises that didn’t seem to be adding anything. Very impressed. Like you said, it might be just placebo effect, but an effect is an effect, placebo or not.

    Incidentally, and this is clearly more to do with knowing now what is going on than any supplement-induced effect, I’m starting to really like logic. I don’t think I’ll ever find the love for Number Theory, even after re-watching the Horizon episode on Wiles’ proof of Fermat’s Last Theorem on Thursday, but at least I’m finally enjoying half of this course. It’s totally unlike any maths I’ve encountered before, and not at all what MS221 Unit D4 would have you believe it is about.

    Anyway, have a nice weekend. I’m getting back to the logic for a few hours before starting work.

    Neil H

    May 14, 2011 at 11:28 AM

  2. Hi Neil,
    That’s great news. 🙂
    I’m glad you have an open mind about such things.
    Whether a placebo effect or not, if you derive benefit from it, then it works.
    That said, since we’re organic beings and organic input has an effect, it’s a matter of finding the right input in terms of cognitive enhancement.
    My diet has been fortified with cod liver oil, Udo’s Oil, B6, B9 and B12, and I’ve noticed, among other things, that energy and the ability to sleep properly/get to sleep easily have improved.
    There’s a bit about these specific B vitamins in the national newspapers today – here’s a link that you might find useful: http://www.dailymail.co.uk/news/article-1386912/15-minute-online-test-dementia-DIY-memory-quiz-detects-early-signs-Alzheimers-people-young-50.html?ito=feeds-newsxml
    I did the online test associated with the article and the test conclusion was that I’m likely at very low risk for developing Alzheimer’s. I now need another excuse for why I can’t remember mathematical formulae. :-/

    May 14, 2011 at 3:55 PM

  3. Jamie

    congrats on the high mark 🙂 I’m currently averaging 94 but I’m only on question 2 of TMA4, really got my work cut out lol, 4 units to read!

    Subscribed to your blog 🙂

    June 12, 2011 at 1:52 PM

    • Hi Jamie. Well done on the average – nice one. 🙂
      Did I read that correctly – 3 days to TMA deadline and you have 4 units to read?
      Good luck. 🙂
      Wow.

      June 12, 2011 at 5:28 PM

      • Jamie

        Lol I got it sent off on time and I think I did quite well, I’ve done similar material before so I have a slight head start, should get results back any day now 🙂

        June 17, 2011 at 9:41 PM

Leave a Reply

