maths study via The Open University

Unit 15 – modelling heat transfer

I’d read on the course forum that MST209’s unit 15 was relatively short and relatively easy.
I agree.
It took about eight hours from start to finish to get through it, and about another five minutes for the associated TMA question. A welcome relief after a few weeks of slog.
The TMA question was suspiciously straightforward, with no OU “twist” that I could see. Hmm. Did I miss something?
Anyway, for those planning on taking MST209 in the future, you do get an easier unit just after the halfway mark.

15 units down, 13 to go.

If I had an exam on this much material, I figure I’d be ok.

Quite how I’ll attempt an exam on this much material, plus another 13 units, I’ve no idea.

The exam is beginning to play on my mind – and it’s still 4 and a half months away.

I’ll start unit 16 tomorrow, which puts me just one day behind the course schedule.

Good stuff.

2 responses

  1. Hi ‘oumaths’

    Thanks for the comment. Exam strategy? I’ve not really considered it yet. Although this year I may have to do it as I will be more rushed, I’ve never been too keen on the “do as many past papers as you can” strategy that everyone bangs on about.

    For the past two years’ exams I spent the few weeks leading up to them skimming the material and doing the end-of-chapter questions of each unit. Then with a few days left, I did a handful of past papers. That is what I’d like to do again, but it’ll depend on the time available really.

    How about yourself? By the way, thanks for adding my link. I added your blog to the ones I follow, and it seems to come up when I check my information, but I don’t know why it’s not appearing in the ‘my blogs list’ section. I’ll have to fiddle around a bit!

    Happy mathsing,
    Neil H

    June 4, 2011 at 4:49 PM

  2. Chris Finlay

    Hi ‘OU maths’ ‘ Short fat failed physicist’ here for some reason I can’t reply to your comment on my blog about M337 so I’m trying here. You asked how I felt about M337 as opposed to M208 it’s definitely a step up in complexity. There is a lot more use of epsilon delta type definitions in the proofs and also a lot more care has to be taken about the definitions of functions and their inverses. Also some of the TMA questions are not just rehash of examples in the units. Still all this is to be expected from a level 3 course, it’s definitely the toughest course I’ve done so far. However as I intend to do topology next year I doubt whether it will be the toughest course. Complex analysis is an important part of both pure and Applied maths for example it plays an important part in number theory and also a lot of my work uses ideas from Complex variables to get approximations to wave equations. So an essential course to do for anyone who wants to call themselves a mathematician.

    Thanks for your blog, it’s interesting to see what MST209 is like even though I probably wont do it as I use it’s concepts quite frequently at work

    Best wishes Chris.

    June 14, 2011 at 9:58 PM

Leave a Reply

