maths study via The Open University

TMA5 back

Not much in the way of tutor observations or comments this time, and a high pass one.

Playing around with the online course assessment calculator, it appears that if I can score 75% in TMA6 then I won’t need to submit TMA7, or the second CMA, in order to obtain a distinction on the assignment side for MST209. I plan to do them all, obviously enough, though.

So, the pressure is off the assignments a bit, and I am beginning to turn my attention to an exam strategy. More on that next month.

Tonight, I’m wading through the end of the first book on M343 – Applications of Probability – since I’ve bought secondhand books to get a head start, ready for next year.

Being five days ahead of the MST209 schedule didn’t feel right, so I’ve turned my attention for the past few nights to the Law of Total Probability, Bayes’ Formula, various straightforward as well as obscure-looking distributions, expected value, and a fair wodge of integral calculus and sigma summation manipulation.

Markov Chain Monte Carlo methods and stacks of calculus will, hopefully, be appearing in the not too distant future.

Next year, spread between the February and October presentations, it looks like I’ll be tackling M248 (again), M343, M337 and MT365.

That will leave me M347 (the new mathematical statistics course) and either M249 (second level statistics) or MSXR209 (the residential course) for either the maths and stats, or the maths-on-its-own degree.

Since all the units up to my final selection are interchangeable between the two degrees, I don’t think I’ll fall foul of the OU’s new funding and costing rules announced yesterday. Hopefully. Maybe.

4 responses

  1. Chris

    Not tempted by MST326?

    July 26, 2011 at 12:35 PM

  2. Hi Chris, I am tempted but it’s a matter of timing.

    Iff it looks like I can get two pass ones at level three under my belt before MST326 is presented next (October 2012), it’s a fair bet I’d take the risk and have a go at it.

    But I obviously won’t have much of a clue how that’s likely to pan out for another year so, in the meantime, I’ll content myself with thoughts of doing the above (easier) courses.

    Truth be told, I’d like to do 430 points of courses but I don’t know how that sits with the new funding arrangements. 🙂

    July 26, 2011 at 3:09 PM

  3. Chris Finlay

    I’m surprised you are doing M248 given your comments on the statistics units of MST121 on the particle physics jedi blog. M343 is a good course though I wish I had given it more attention.

    July 26, 2011 at 6:22 PM

  4. It may be possible to avoid M248. I was mainly factoring it in to allow me to understand the distributions in M343 a bit better. That said, I have the course materials for M248 here, so have no excuses really.
    Truth be told, I’m still unsure which degree to complete and which modules to include.
    I’m also hoping for a response to a question I posted in the maths and comp chat forum about whether we need to hit exactly 360 points, or can go a bit over it to complete the degree, without losing funding help.

    July 26, 2011 at 9:36 PM

Leave a Reply

