maths study via The Open University

Unit 22 – PDEs

This is one BIG topic to attempt to cover off in one week but the course notes waste no time in getting down to the wave and diffusion equations, while throwing in all sorts of other bits and pieces.

And that’s what this unit feels like – a bits and pieces introduction to a vast subset of maths. I’d have liked to see this go much deeper.

My video of choice this week:

I’m also sufficiently enthralled by Fourier series to want to have a deeper look at my own leisurely pace, hence I’ve ordered this book, which has rave reviews: http://www.amazon.com/Who-Fourier-Mathematical-Transnational-College/dp/0964350408

To quote one reviewer:

“This book is nothing if not eclectic, and the range of topics discussed is immense.

“If I hadn’t already studied calculus and linear algebra in college I would also, for the first time, understand differentiation, integration, vector spaces, Euler’s formula, Maclaurin series and the number e, all of which are presented with unusual clarity.

“This book is a tour de force, a summary of almost everything that is interesting (at least to me) in mathematics.”

All that, plus a very careful treatment of Fourier series and transforms. Nuff said. It’s ordered.

And unless anyone says otherwise over the next couple of days, this book on Maxwell’s equations will be ordered, too: http://www.amazon.com/Students-Guide-Maxwells-Equations/dp/0521701473/ref=pd_rhf_shvl_4

3 responses

  1. Chris

    Looks like you’ll be doing the Applied courses then
    Yes PDE’s is a mmassive topic it would take a life time to master all the implications.

    July 28, 2011 at 11:08 AM

  2. Hi Chris, I spent today doing MST326’s revision booklet up as far as I could because there are elements I’ve not yet covered and which are still to come in the final units of MST209. Aside from needing to take myself outside and have a “word” about solving ODEs with the integrating factor method, it was pretty ok.
    Maybe MT365, M248 and M343 in February 2012, followed by MST326 and either M346 or M347, plus MSXR209 from October 2012?
    Does this sound do-able, or nuts?
    I keep thinking I should really spread my remaining study out over 3 leisurely years, but I also hope that it’s do-able in 2.

    July 28, 2011 at 7:47 PM

  3. Chris Finlay

    No I don’t think you are mad the only problem i would have is facing 3 exams in one go. One of the contributing factors for me leaving Linear statistical modelling was the prospect of having to face 3 exams all in one and a half days. In a way 30 point courses especially if you do two at a time are more than a 60 point course because of the extra exam preparation. If you decide to do MST326 we’ll be doing it together. Certainly if you want to get into geophysical modelling a good grasp of fluid mechanics is essential. I didn’t do that much for my degree and it crops up in Astrophysics a lot so there is a good reason for me to do the course to finish off the maths. It means putting my philosophy on hold for another year but doing 120 points come October would be rather stupid especially as there will be no down time in 2012.

    July 29, 2011 at 3:43 PM

Leave a Reply

