maths study via The Open University

TMA6 done

Well, this is bad news.
TMA6 is done, completed.
But loads of new stuff learned studied to complete the TMA hasn’t been properly understood, or is quickly being forgotten.

I’ve just been through my TMA before putting it in an envelope and while I can follow my arguments easily enough, I don’t have a clue of what most of the answers to question six actually mean and, horror of horrors, the Fourier stuff looks like a foreign language, which means virtually none of it has been committed to memory.

With four or five weeks until the final TMA, and another four units (which look like easily the most difficult in the course) to complete, I’m going to have to relearn half of block six from scratch again at revision time. The course has outpaced me.

On that note, a fridge full of beer awaits and I am off to get exceedingly drunk.

4 responses

  1. Chris Finlay

    Sounds like you deserve a good few beers and I can sympathise with the sentiment
    ‘loads of new stuff studied to complete the TMA hasn’t been properly understood or is quickly being forgotten’ I feel that way with the last units of Complex Analysis.

    August 19, 2011 at 8:14 PM

  2. Sadly, it seems I have spun my wheels on two out of the four units. I was going to make a corny joke about work done and line integrals at this point but since I don’t understand them properly, I’ll refrain from publishing too much intra-beer idiocy.

    August 19, 2011 at 8:40 PM

  3. Chris Finlay

    Whilst Vector differentiation (grad div and curl) is fairly straightforward I think Vector Integration is one of the most difficult subjects and although I can go through the motions I always have to think why it works. It’s like a bar of soap sometimes I feel I grasp it but then it just slips out of my hand.

    August 20, 2011 at 4:55 PM

  4. I’m going back to the vector calculus unit now. It’s irritating me.

    August 24, 2011 at 2:34 PM

Leave a Reply

