maths study via The Open University

Unit 25 Multiple Integrals

In stark contrast to the difficulties I had in the last block, unit 25 seems to be plain-sailing (caveat: I’m only 4/5ths through it).

I’m enjoying its double and triple integrals, light introduction to moments of inertia, switching in and out of various coordinate systems, and calculating the bounds of iterated integrals where constants aren’t the order of the day.

I haven’t looked in depth at the three separate TMA questions associated with the unit yet, so I’ll save the jubilation of appearing to fully understand it all at first pass until after a few pages of A4 have been produced for marking.

My tutor has told me that (some of?) the maths in this unit is vital if unit 27 – Rotating bodies and angular momentum – is to be fully understood.

Some rather excellent MIT videos I found helpful for unit 25:



.
I’m also planning to watch this one tonight:

Leave a Reply

