maths study via The Open University

Finally – stuck

And it feels, er, kind of good.

I’ve been battering my head against a torus-integral problem for hours.
Pretty sure I won’t solve it but not for lack of trying.

On the plus side, it has consolidated everything in unit 25 – multiple integrals – but not sufficiently so to actually get the answer.

In a weird way, it’s nice when that happens. I look forward to my tutor’s model answer.

Edit: slept on it and it seemed all too obvious this morning. Sneaky enough question, though.

2 responses

  1. Colin Smith

    It was certainly sneaky! Took me a day or so to understand what was required…I think I understand volume integrals a lot more now though, thanks to that question!

    September 1, 2011 at 8:50 PM

  2. Got to agree with you there, Colin. A good question to deepen knowledge – just like that torque question in the CMA which sparked a 3000000000000 page thread.

    September 1, 2011 at 9:38 PM

Leave a Reply

