maths study via The Open University

M347 – first assignment done

Alas, not the TMA, which looks like a totally foreign language to me at this point in time, but the first CMA, or iCMA as it’s called on this course for some reason.

All questions are answered but I’ll hold off submitting it until tomorrow, after I’ve checked them since I’m knackered (work has become crazily busy), and struggling to concentrate.

The chuffed feeling of having done the first CMA evaporated quickly though – it seems some students have done the first couple, or few CMAs, and the first TMA, and a bit more…. (the course doesn’t “officially” begin for another week and a bit).

I think it’s fair to say I’m the statistical runt of this (bright) cohort.

Ah well.

I’ll console myself with the realisation I can integrate by parts, and create Maclaurin series, in my head easily enough. 🙂

2 responses

  1. Chris Finlay

    It’s easy to get intimidated by people on the fora just take things at your own pace and ignore the fora. I found it easy to get sucked in last year and whilst I will contribute when I feel I can I prefer blogging and the mates I make from that to the fora. They do seem to be full of egoists and show offs.

    Anyway well done doing the first CMA I must admit I hate multiple choice it is so easy to drop some marks because of an answer which is nearly right. Especially when some times you have to choose a combination. It’s all unfair as there is no chance to show your working and at least get some credit. Perhaps 1/2 a mark for answers which are close might even things out a bit I don’t know. Anyway I hope to do TMA01 of the Topology course this weekend and finally on Monday the website for MS324 opens

    best wishes Chris

    January 27, 2012 at 4:34 PM

  2. Hi Chris,
    These new-fangled iCMAs can take direct input – not just multiple choice now.
    But you’re right – they just take “the answer” – no additional credit for method or thought process.
    How much metric space stuff is in the topology course?

    February 1, 2012 at 10:26 PM

Leave a Reply

