maths study via The Open University

Complex analysis

I spent more time this past week on studying non-elected course topics than I probably should have done.

M343 and M347 feel ok, so I began to look at complex analysis, skipping around through various books and watching various online videos as I went.

I’m at a point where I’m playing around with the Reimann zeta function and Euler product, and looking at their applications to analytic number theory, which, of course, has led to a totally baffling meeting with the Reimann Hypothesis, the outline of which I don’t understand, let alone methods of proving it.

And that’s where I’d better stop for a week or so, or I’ll be falling behind with elected study.

A “side aim” this year, is to have essentially studied much of the meat of undergraduate complex analysis before formally enrolling onto a course in it in October this year. From that, an interest in analytic number theory *may* emerge.

Other distractions this week included producing two proofs of Pythagoras’ Theorem, both of which are already well-known (no surprises there), and thinking up ways to evaluate the Gaussian integral (keeps the brain cells ticking over, which is probably a good thing.)

A coin will go in the air this evening to decide whether to crack the next few units of M347, or the next book of M343 in the coming week or two.

The rest of today has been allocated to garden work.

4 responses

  1. ajl

    Doing M337 myself in October, I hope.
    Have done a course covering most of what I expect to find already, so I can vouch for the fact that it is an interesting topic with some nice results.
    Would like to think that I can get through most of the course before the official start date having finished M343 last week.
    Have you managed to get hold of any more of the pdf’s than are currently available from the OU – Units A1 and A2, that is?

    March 21, 2012 at 5:18 PM

  2. Hi,
    The usual place to buy advance notes is through universitybooksearch.co.uk.
    I’m using the usual mainstream books and Youtube to get a bit of an insight.
    There are some very recently-uploaded Youtube videos which deal with the Euler product, etc, which helped.
    Are you on the current M343 cohort? March seems pretty early to be finished. 🙂

    March 21, 2012 at 6:08 PM

    • ajl

      Yes, I’m doing M343 this year and have posted on the OU and Facebook forums.
      I have found that I like to get the fundamentals of courses and also their assignments over and done with asap.
      It is in the revision process that I like to do most of my work; that is my favourite time.
      Having done much of it before also helps!
      I am luckier than most.

      March 21, 2012 at 7:21 PM

  3. That’s very, very impressive. I’ll be happy to get it nailed by September. 🙂 The lack of previous stats is a bit of a problem. 🙂

    March 21, 2012 at 10:28 PM

Leave a Reply

