maths study via The Open University

(Some) results in

Grade 1s for the three M347 iCMAs submitted so far (awaiting TMA result).
Grade 1 for the M343 TMA, and a note to myself not to blather on about something next time before I define the variable. Other observation – as is usual, I have over-written the TMA (but this is a cunning ploy to help me come exam revision time, honest). I seem to have, in my enthusiasm, even managed to prove some basic calculus results rather than appeal directly to them during integration. Fear not, dear tutor, my exam script will make massive leaps between lines, so there’ll be 1/10th of the pap (I just wrote) to mark in October. 🙂

Next to do: first chunk of M343 CMA1, first chunk of M343 TMA2 (material overlaps).
M347 in the back seat for the next week.

I’d better do some actuarial past papers at some point, as well. Does anyone know how a pass is determined (fixed level, quantiles, etc)?

5 responses

  1. James Williams

    they can’t mark you down for proving basic calculus, better to leave it in if you’re not sure than leave it out assuming its obvious.

    Can’t wait to get stuck into quantum and electro, fed up of essay style questions in my current module, really hate any question where you can’t tell what mark you got before you submit it!

    well done on your results 🙂

    March 22, 2012 at 6:42 AM

  2. James Williams

    posting just because I forgot to tick notify about followups

    March 22, 2012 at 6:43 AM

  3. He didn’t take marks off, but did remark on the length of my script, which was fair comment. 🙂
    I know what you mean about essays and marks – with maths you usually know if you got it right, or made stuff up. 🙂

    March 22, 2012 at 6:15 PM

  4. Chris Finlay

    except some pure maths feels more like writing an essay rather than doing actual maths.
    Anyway well done

    March 22, 2012 at 8:44 PM

  5. Indeed it can do, Chris. I’ve now learned that getting full marks out of M347 will require a pure-maths-analytic approach with side notes and minor arguments for special cases, rather than appealing to the obviousness of it.

    April 5, 2012 at 10:59 PM

Leave a Reply

