maths study via The Open University

M347 rush

The personal problems have come back, and have taken up all my time since my last post.
That has created one major headache – I have less than a week to read more than two months’ worth of M347 material and complete numerous iCMAs, plus one TMA.

I’ve got Monday and Tuesday off work, and the TMA needs to go in the post by 5pm Tuesday, and arrive the next day if I’m not to miss the deadline.

Absolutely nothing I could do about it .

So, I made a start last night, and read a week’s worth in a night, then did one iCMA, which I managed to get almost fully correct.

This afternoon and tonight, I’ve read another week’s worth of the next unit, on maximum likelihood estimates. Thankfully, it’s calculus-heavy, and I like calculus, so it was quite a swift skim read, which made good sense.

I’m now boggle-eyed but the plan is: tomorrow afternoon/evening – finish this unit, do the iCMA and the TMA question, Saturday do 16 hours on the next unit, plus the iCMA and TMA question/s, then have a “leisurely” Sunday and Monday doing the final unit, plus iCMA and TMA question/s.

Far from ideal and, once it’s sent, I’ll need to switch back to M343 (should be three weeks behind by then), then do six weeks of reading in 18 days and post the next TMA off.

Far from an ideal, or expected, start to this academic year but sometimes side-swipes come and there’s nothing you can do about them.

My emergency move will be to ask for a two day extension on either TMA, if needs be.

After that, it’s back to the personal problem, and falling behind again.

If I wasn’t such a stubborn git, I’d have jacked the whole lot in for 2012 by now.

Off to bed – work at 6:30am tomorrow. 🙂

2 responses

  1. I’m about to take a swing a TMA02 from having barely looked at any of the material. Should be a blast of a weekend.

    May 24, 2012 at 11:59 PM

  2. Chris Finlay

    I admire your resillance a lesser person would have jacked it in by now as Winston Churchill once said KBO (Keep Buggering On)

    Well done mate wish I could buy you a pint or two

    May 26, 2012 at 5:45 PM

Leave a Reply

