maths study via The Open University

Productive day

All the needed reading for M343 TMA2 has been done and questions 3-6 answered, leaving 1 and 2 for tomorrow, which are the easier ones.
Lots to trip you up in this assignment, but really interesting material and questions, which has made the pain of a 13 hour stint today quite enjoyable in its own odd way.

Having done MST209, the PDE-related questions seemed quite straightforward.
The random walks question took ages – there’s more things to trip you up in here than a little.

Just read my emails for the first time in about a month and it seems there’s a tutor problem – I need to drive down to the OU HQ in Cambridge to hand deliver this assignment, which actually helps me out a bit, since I can leave that until Tuesday night to be in time for Wednesday’s deadline – the TMA doesn’t now need to be posted on Monday to be sure of arriving in time.

Off for a beer, then resume at 9am tomorrow morning. Will hopefully have the rough draft done by midnight, then write it up over Monday and Tuesday, rechecking what I’ve done.

The spectre of M347 then looms – had to email my tutor for that as he thinks (I think) I’ve withdrawn, which I haven’t.

3 responses

  1. jamie

    Seems like you’re catching up well. I had a bit of a disappointment with s283, walked out thinking 90% but now I realise the multiple choice questions reduced me to about 83 which is unfortunate. My own fault because I basically learnt the whole module in 2 weeks, doable for MST209 where it was all understanding, but s283 was basically a course where you have to memories 700 pages of textbook to get the 85. Oh well, more maths modules to come 🙂 MST326 I look forward to!

    June 17, 2012 at 2:12 AM

    • jamie

      Memorize* on an android phone lol

      June 17, 2012 at 2:13 AM

  2. Chris Finlay

    Well done mate a well deserved pint earnt
    I found the PDE part of M343 the most interesting but other people didn’t like it all. I think it comes as a bit of a shock to people that there is a lot more to statistics than simply calculating means, averages etc. Something not helped by the fact that half of the OU statitistics courses are essentially exercises in learning how to interpret data without to much of the mathematics behind it.

    Anyway enjoy your pint. I’m finishing off my third topology TMA

    Best wishes Chris

    June 17, 2012 at 12:02 PM

Leave a Reply

