maths study via The Open University

M343 Applications of Probability exam revision

Starting tomorrow (15 Sept), my initial plan (which will surely change) is:

Sat 15 – specimen paper
Sun 16 – Weds 19 – go back through book one
Thurs 20 – past paper from 2011
Fri 21 – Mon 24 – go back through book two
Tues 25 – past paper from 2010
Weds 26 – Sat 29 – go back through book three
Sun 30 – past papers from 2009 and 2008
Mon 1 – Thurs 4 – go back through book four
Fri 5 – past papers from 2007 and 2006
Sat 6 – Tues 9 – go back through book five
Weds 10 – sit exam
Thurs 11 – nurse hangover
Fri 12 – begin M337

6 responses

  1. Hi

    I am also taking this exam in a few weeks, also just starting to plan my revision after getting off TMA03! My intention is to mainly rely on past papers. I did so on M381 and it paid off very well, as I got a really good exam result.

    My method was to basically learn how to answer every single question from the last 5 or 6 exams, ie the techniques required. I spent very litte time referring to the books, as I’ve done that for previous exams and been extremely disappointed when I’ve been left bamboozled by questions, despite really rereading the whole course in great depth,

    The exam style and the questions involved were so repetitive, year in year out, that nothing in the exam was a surprise or a challenge. I hope I can do the same with M343 (and MT365, which I’m also doing in a few weeks). One of the reviews on the M343 page suggests I will be able to.

    Anyway, best of luck!

    September 14, 2012 at 11:16 PM

    • Hi Daniel,
      I wish I could have enough confidence to do this but having come close to getting caught out last year doing MST209 – when the exam question style and content changed somewhat after years of no change – I’m not sure I can risk it given that the M343 we’re following this year is a re-write with a new style specimen paper.
      I do know I’m avoiding any genetics material as that chapter bored me.
      Best of luck in the exam.

      September 17, 2012 at 5:41 PM

  2. Lisa Evans

    Looks like a good plan. I’m also studying M343 and have the past papers for 2011 and 2010 but I’m looking for example answers – do you know where to get/buy them? Best, Lisa

    September 17, 2012 at 3:43 PM

    • Hi Lisa,
      I have no idea, unfortunately.
      If the forum was a bit more lively, we could have banded together to come up with sample answers.
      I’m quite happy to scan and upload my answers to here as and when I do these papers, if that’s any help.

      September 17, 2012 at 5:44 PM

  3. OA

    Arghhh! Its getting close!!!! I have M343 on the 10th, MT365 on 11th and M208 on the 17th… to top it off I work pretty much full time…. what are the chances of passing ugh!

    I think past papers are always the best strategy as I was taught with A-Level maths and its worked ever since!

    Good luck to you all!

    September 23, 2012 at 11:59 AM

  4. Aggie

    Hi, I am starting this module in October and wondering where I can get solutions to past exam papers. Any suggestions please?

    July 3, 2014 at 10:04 AM

Leave a Reply

