maths study via The Open University

M337 TMA1 sent, and block B read

I finally got round to sending off the Block A TMA – TMA1 – after rewriting about half of it into a tighter format which hopefully still contains all of the information.
This was a useful exercise both for sharpening arguments and also as consolidation of Block A.

On top of that, I’ve completed a first pass reading of Block B, having done very few of the problems and exercises, while also trying to see “what’s under the hood” of certain key results – ie can they be shown/proved in a different way? Varying success here, but at least it has got me thinking.

Work-wise, I leave in four days and have decided not to take the new job offered to me. Instead, I have taken some part-time temping work in the same field up to the end of January 2013, at which point I’ll stop work completely for 18 months, reduce spending to little above basic necessities, and aim to get this degree finished bar the release of the results by July 2014.

To that end, SM358 will be M337’s study buddy this academic year, with various mathematical treatises of quantum mechanics already forming my night time reading.

I’ve written out a study plan which, weekly, incorporates 20 hours of M337, 20 hours of SM358 and about eight hours looking at the MSc course based on the Calculus of Variations; the notes of which I already have. Note that it’s just a case of trying to develop my maths further by trying to follow along with the MSc intro course, rather than enrolling upon it for extra credit.

I figure it might develop mathematical maturity.

Absolutely loving M337, and finding I’m reading various topology texts in tandem at the moment, to deepen my understanding of necessary and key points. I can see why the OU’s topology course is rated as difficult by many students, if the alternative texts I have are anything to go by – definition city being one major problem for me.

6 responses

  1. Chris Finlay

    Yeah Definition city definitely sums up Topology just an abstraction too far for me. I’ll write a full review of M338 over christmas

    Glad you are enjoying M337 I would love to go over it again myself
    Am tempted to do quantum mechanics in October as I want to do the research project on entanglement in order to clarify my ideas on the subject.

    Best wishes Chris

    December 17, 2012 at 9:22 PM

    • Some complex analysis results are indistinguishable from magic.

      December 17, 2012 at 9:48 PM

      • I think the beauty of it, so far, is that the proofs are quite easily followed and the logic is just within my boundary. I’m sure it will cause major headaches in the second half of the course, mind you.

        December 17, 2012 at 10:15 PM

    • Is QM running again in October, Chris?
      I know it’s on in February. Is it an annual course?

      December 17, 2012 at 10:16 PM

  2. Chris Finlay

    Yeah like the maths dept the phtsics dept is switching from feb starts to October starts
    so if you feel a bit pressurised you could postpone till October. If you or any other readers of your blog want to know my current thoughts check out the latest discussion on the OUSA physics fora. I’m more and more convinced that the only way to interpret quantum mechanics in a rational way which doesn’t involve an appeal to magic is to see the wavefunction as a device to generate probability density functions and to distinguish between correlation and causation, Just because there is a correlation between two variables does not imply a causal relationship I think this is the key to understanding situattons such as the Aspect experiment and not the usual story that the measurement of the spin of one of the particles instantaneously affects the other. A guy Andrew perkins has conveniantly provided access to his project thesis on the subject and I have provided a couple of references which support this view.

    December 19, 2012 at 11:58 PM

    • Can’t seem to get into the physics forums any more since the platform changes.
      Aspect’s stuff is very interesting and I want to know more.

      December 20, 2012 at 9:13 PM

Leave a Reply

