maths study via The Open University

M337 TMA1 back

A fully marked assignment number one was waiting for me on my return from Christmas visits tonight.
Must have been there since Christmas Eve, which means my tutor was prompt in the extreme in marking it since it only went off about a week ago.

Anyway, nice to see some remarks about rigour being spot on and everything being mathematically correct.

Mathematically correct, but not completely as per how the course wanted it.

For example, now I re-read the TMA, it wants an answer given as a standard parametrization. I got so into this question, which had many prior parts before the parametrization presented itself, and applied so many trig identities to get it into a nice format that, erm, well, as accurate as it was, it wasn’t in standard form. A mark gone.

Another mark went because I omitted to send in a page of my assignment. Not the best move that.

And another mark went because I failed to mention I was using a particular Theorem – I just invoked it like a wave of a magic wand.

Anyway, near enough full marks, so off to a good start.

I’ve done half of TMA2 over Christmas – while the rest of the family was sat there in fits of laughter at the Royle Family, I was booting various bits of the second block around. So, a little ahead at the mo, with the intention to get the second assignment finished by the end of the first week in January, to give me some breathing space to read up on all the physics I ought to know in preparation for SM358 – Quantum Mechanics.

Merry Christmas all.

2 responses

  1. I found TMA02 much more straightforward than TMA01. I found it very easy to make mistakes on TMA01.

    Mind you, I haven’t sent it off yet, and had it marked….

    December 26, 2012 at 9:29 PM

  2. 97/100 is a very good score for a very difficult assignment.

    December 26, 2012 at 9:34 PM

Leave a Reply

