maths study via The Open University

M337 TMA2 sent and SM358 books opened

M337 TMA2 went off today, together with my best guess at how to prove something which seemed rather abstract in nature – the bit I was stuck on.

No idea how correct my proof is, but I think it’s probably on the right lines.

Tomorrow kicks off my SM358 Quantum mechanics catch-up, but I have had the books out and Wiki open, turning posh words into normal words – infinite square well potential and all that.

Too early to say much except I opened the first TMA and discovered that a large lump of marks will depend on some fancy prose rather than mathematics, though there is maths in there for plenty of marks, too.

Just feels a bit of a weird and more subjective layout when compared with the absolute rigour of 100 marks-worth of maths at a time.

I’m going to buy some of the books Chris has previously mentioned on his blog to see a lot deeper into this subject than undergraduate level might otherwise go – it does interest me.

Aside from that, and thinking of moving to the outskirts of London in the near future, nothing new to report.

 

 

Leave a Reply

